Books
Afterimage

YA Sci-Fi Thriller (standalone novel)
Available now from Page Street Publishing (distributed by Macmillan)
Mental Health representation: panic disorder

Finalist for the Oklahoma Book Award

“[This] high-action, science-fiction thriller starts with a bang and never slows for a beat. …[P]lot twists, flashbacks, and alternate timelines keep the story full of surprises. A wild, fast-paced ride full of unexpected turns.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Hughes’ character-driven science fiction pulls the reader through a dizzying maze of complex but logical plot twists, and Camryn’s fully realized, first-person voice sustains this taut thriller.” –Booklist Reviews

“This tale deserves a prominent place on sci-fi shelves.” –School Library Journal

Chosen as a 2018 Fall/Winter YA Buzz Book by Publishers Marketplace

A horrific explosion levels part of the city and Camryn Kingfisher is the sole survivor.

Amidst controversy, conspiracy theories, and threats from government officials, Camryn longs for the truth. But the only person she can turn to is a transparent boy in a lab coat named Quint. Unsure whether he’s a hallucination or a ghost, Camryn has no choice but to trust him as they become embroiled in a plot that is bigger than either of them realizes.

In a race where the fabric of time and space is at stake, they must figure out who caused the explosion before the culprit comes back to finish Camryn–and her city–off for good.

ISBN: 978-62414-5971

Content warnings are in my author review on Goodreads.

To order a signed copy, you can visit Best of Books’ site and order Afterimage, then add a note in the “comments” section during checkout that you’d like for it to be signed, along with the specific wording of any personalization (name, happy birthday, etc.) you want added.

Refraction

YA Sci-Fi (standalone novel)
Coming Nov 5, 2019 from Page Street Publishing (distributed by Macmillan)
Mental Health representation: OCD

“Reads like an Arthur C. Clarke–Stephen King collaboration set in Silent Hill—fans of dark sci-fi will enjoy.” –Kirkus Reviews

“…a fast- paced, mind-bending sf mystery with poignant #OwnVoices OCD representation.” –Booklist

“With an execution like one of the more thought-provoking episodes of Doctor Who, not to mention a satisfying ending, [Refraction] greatly exceeds its intriguing premise.” –BCCB

“A first-contact dystopia with hints of Stephen King’s The Mist, Hughes’s #OwnVoices novel featuring a hero with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) is an engaging addition to the genre…Librarians will find this novel a go-to recommendation for fans of Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s Illuminae and an accessible sci-fi for reluctant readers.” –SLJ

Marty Callahan still remembers the earth before the fog, before all the mirrors turned deadly. . .

Everything changed one year ago when an alien ship was destroyed over earth. No one knows why the shattered ship covered the world in fog, or how it turned mirrors into portals for vicious monsters. All Marty knows is that his small coastal town is one of the few remaining safe havens. Though all reflective surfaces are now illegal to protect what’s left of the population, mirrors still have unique uses and the demand continues to rise.

Seizing the opportunity, Marty becomes a distributor in an illegal mirror trade until he’s caught by the mayor’s son, whose slate is far from clean. The punishment for their crimes is exile, and both of them are sent to one of the many abandoned and dangerous cities overrun by fog.

But the nightmarish streets hold a mystery far greater than anything they could have imagined. Together, the two discover the horrifying truth behind what really happened when the spaceship was destroyed, and what they must do to save earth from the total destruction no one knows is coming.

Content warnings are in my author review on Goodreads.

To order a signed copy, you can visit Best of Books’ site and order Refraction, then add a note in the “comments” section during checkout that you’d like for it to be signed, along with the specific wording of any personalization (name, happy birthday, etc.) you want added.

The Shadowed Flame
The Shadowed Flame

YA Fantasy Adventure (Book 1 of the Unicorn Rider trilogy)
Available as a serialized story from Radish Fiction
(Not currently published in book form; for rights info, email Naomi Davis of Bookends Literary)

Jackson Harper slays monsters on the sly.

He’s a unicorn rider. A defender of the territory. But he has to keep that a secret—because technically he’s supposed to be pure of heart to be approved for a unicorn bond, and his shady past rules that out. If the authorities catch him now, his monster-slaying dream job is all over.

But when a snake-dragon battle gets out of hand, he’s forced to accept help from a real rider: Moira Maldrigo. Six years ago, she was his best friend and unrequited crush. Now, she’s duty-bound to turn him in to the unicorn regiment.

But the unicorns have a dark secret too. And when Jackson and Moira stumble on it, they’re caught up in a much bigger—and deadlier—battle than they’d ever anticipated.