Books
Afterimage

YA Sci-Fi Thriller (standalone novel)
Available now from Page Street Publishing (distributed by Macmillan)
Mental Health representation: panic disorder

Finalist for the Oklahoma Book Award

“[This] high-action, science-fiction thriller starts with a bang and never slows for a beat. …[P]lot twists, flashbacks, and alternate timelines keep the story full of surprises. A wild, fast-paced ride full of unexpected turns.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Hughes’ character-driven science fiction pulls the reader through a dizzying maze of complex but logical plot twists, and Camryn’s fully realized, first-person voice sustains this taut thriller.” –Booklist Reviews

“This tale deserves a prominent place on sci-fi shelves.” –School Library Journal

Chosen as a 2018 Fall/Winter YA Buzz Book by Publishers Marketplace

A horrific explosion levels part of the city and Camryn Kingfisher is the sole survivor.

Amidst controversy, conspiracy theories, and threats from government officials, Camryn longs for the truth. But the only person she can turn to is a transparent boy in a lab coat named Quint. Unsure whether he’s a hallucination or a ghost, Camryn has no choice but to trust him as they become embroiled in a plot that is bigger than either of them realizes.

In a race where the fabric of time and space is at stake, they must figure out who caused the explosion before the culprit comes back to finish Camryn–and her city–off for good.

ISBN: 978-62414-5971

Content advisories are in my author review on Goodreads.

Refraction

YA Sci-Fi (standalone novel)
Available now from Page Street Publishing (distributed by Macmillan)
Mental Health representation: OCD

Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoyah Masterlist
YALSA 2021 Best Fiction For Young Adults Pick

“Reads like an Arthur C. Clarke–Stephen King collaboration set in Silent Hill—fans of dark sci-fi will enjoy.” –Kirkus Reviews

“…a fast- paced, mind-bending sf mystery with poignant #OwnVoices OCD representation.” –Booklist

“With an execution like one of the more thought-provoking episodes of Doctor Who, not to mention a satisfying ending, [Refraction] greatly exceeds its intriguing premise.” –BCCB (starred review)

“A first-contact dystopia with hints of Stephen King’s The Mist, Hughes’s #OwnVoices novel featuring a hero with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) is an engaging addition to the genre…Librarians will find this novel a go-to recommendation for fans of Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s Illuminae and an accessible sci-fi for reluctant readers.” –SLJ

Marty Callahan still remembers the earth before the fog, before all the mirrors turned deadly. . .

Everything changed one year ago when an alien ship was destroyed over earth. No one knows why the shattered ship covered the world in fog, or how it turned mirrors into portals for vicious monsters. All Marty knows is that his small coastal town is one of the few remaining safe havens. Though all reflective surfaces are now illegal to protect what’s left of the population, mirrors still have unique uses and the demand continues to rise.

Seizing the opportunity, Marty becomes a distributor in an illegal mirror trade until he’s caught by the mayor’s son, whose slate is far from clean. The punishment for their crimes is exile, and both of them are sent to one of the many abandoned and dangerous cities overrun by fog.

But the nightmarish streets hold a mystery far greater than anything they could have imagined. Together, the two discover the horrifying truth behind what really happened when the spaceship was destroyed, and what they must do to save earth from the total destruction no one knows is coming.

ISBN: 978-1624148903

Content advisories are in my author review on Goodreads.

Mercurial

Standalone YA Fantasy
Perfect for fans of the Grishaverse novels and The Winner’s Curse series!

The mercurial princess.
Everyone fears the Destroyer. The metal in her blood gives her incendiary powers, and the coldness in her heart makes her the empress’s perfect weapon…until a rebel attack leaves her with no magic and no memories.

The reluctant bodyguard sworn to serve her.
Tal’s god asked him to protect the Destroyer years ago. He said yes, and he’s regretted it ever since. Now that she’s powerless he can finally end her reign of terror—if he can stop himself from falling for the wicked, funny, utterly unfamiliar girl she’s become.

And the assassin who will save him.
Nyx was furious when her brother, Tal, abandoned her to obey a faithless god. Now, she hones herself as a rebel assassin until she can kill the Destroyer and rescue Tal. But the closer she gets, the more she realizes the entire empire hinges on the decisions the three of them will make…

ISBN: 978-1736394304

Read content advisory on Goodreads.

Bonus short story The Rose Witch available here! NOTE: this short story is set 15 years after the end of the book. DON’T READ IT UNLESS YOU’VE FINISHED THE BOOK. Or unless you like being spoiled for major plot twists as well as the book’s ending. You’ve been warned! 🙂

The Shadowed Flame

Book 1 in The Sundered Worlds Trilogy
Coming Sep 7, 2021
A brand-new “young YA” trilogy perfect for fans of Percy Jackson!

Jackson Harper slays monsters on the sly.

He’s a unicorn rider, a defender of the territory. But he has to keep that a secret—because technically he’s supposed to be pure of heart to be approved for a unicorn bond, and his shady past rules that out. If the authorities catch him now, his monster-slaying dream job is all over.

But when a snake-dragon battle gets out of hand, he’s forced to accept help from a real rider: Moira Maldrigo. Six years ago, she was his best friend and unrequited crush. Now, she’s duty-bound to turn him in to the unicorn regiment.

But the unicorns have a dark secret too. And when Jackson and Moira stumble on it, they’re caught up in a much bigger—and deadlier—battle than they’d ever anticipated.

ISBN: 978-1-7363943-3-5

Empress of Ash

Book 2 in The Sundered Worlds Trilogy
Coming in January 2022
A brand-new “young YA” trilogy perfect for fans of Percy Jackson!

Iris Tulle is a villain bent on saving the world.

She’s spent years dissecting unicorns, but none of her experiments have turned up what she needs most: magik. The living unicorns hoard all of that, even though the world is slowly dying without it—which is why she’s planning to taking them down.

But all that changes when a near-death experience ends with her unwittingly bonded to her very own stallion. Colby is a kind-hearted but naive young unicorn who has no idea she’s the reason his kin have been disappearing. Iris tells herself she’s only keeping him alive so she can study his magik—and the strange connection it seems to grant her to Jackson Harper.

But as she becomes more involved with him and the unicorn riders, she discovers a disastrous truth about magik that leads her to another world…and to a choice between Colby’s life, and her own future.

ISBN: 978-1-7363943-5-9